Skip to content
30/05/2011 / melgardener

To bed with a good book

Everyone knows how much I love reading and it’s no secret that one of my biggest indulgences in my time-poor life is to curl up in bed or on the couch with a book I can really get my teeth into.

I often read in bed at night before I go to sleep. For the most part, it helps me switch off my brain if I have too many things buzzing around inside (remember the burnt To-Do list? Hmmmm) and, no matter how tired I am, I find I do sleep better even if I only read a few pages.

But lately my reading in bed has become a bit of a problem. I keep coming across books that are just too good.

“Too good??!!” I hear you gasp. “Is there such a thing?”

Well, yes.

You see, lately I’ve been losing time and I don’t know where it goes. I head to bed as usual at around 10.30pm and snuggle down with my hot water bottle and my book (I’m nothing if not an early Nanna). I read for around 5 minutes then go to turn the light off, only to discover that it’s past midnight.

Where on earth did the time go?

Of course, by this stage I’m very tired and I know I have to get up early the next morning but I’m so involved in the story line and so engaged by the action or emotion that I promise myself, “just 5 more minutes”, which usually turns into at least another half hour – at least.

I tend to find that books like this have the ability to pull me away from reality as I sink through the pages. Within my head I am transported
to another time and another place, as I greedily devour every syllable, punctuation mark, sentence and paragraph.

I must point out that not every book affects me in this way but I have always had the ability to shut out the world when I’m reading. This is interesting for me as I am a multi-tasker from way back and I’m quite used to juggling 6-7 balls at any one time. The only activity I can’t multi-task is reading. Almost the only time I ever sit still is when I’m reading.

Either you are a reader or you are not. I’m really pleased that I seem to have passed the reading gene onto at least one of my children and I’m hoping for 2/2. If you are a reader, there’s a good chance you know exactly what I’m talking about.

At the moment, I have my head fully enveloped by the Millennium series by Steig Larsson (I’m up to Book 3) which I’m re-reading for the umpteenth time.

Are you a reader? What do you read that really engages you? What are you reading now?

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. pkg / May 31 2011 12:56 am

    Wow that is exactly how I go to sleep with a book. Sometimes you get to sleep very soon but then you find a book that is so interesting that you want to keep on turning pages and suddenly you find it is too late. For me harry potter does that.
    http://iandbooks.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

