Skip to content
11/08/2011 / melgardener

Where does your creativity come from?

I can always tell when my life gets the better of me. It shows in my stress levels and in the number of jobs at home I have to leave undone. It shows in my lack of time and patience with the kids, but most of all it manifests itself in a lack of creativity.

I’ve always been the kind of writer who can make it happen…I can always find the words if I have to. For a client or to meet a deadline or writing up an interview but to complete the type of writing that truly pushes my creative buttons I need head space and time. 

So, that means, it’s normally the first thing that gets put on the backburner as soon as I get busy.

As with any creative investment – whether it be craft, cooking, art, writing or anything else – it requires a focus of mind and spirit which I can’t always provide. And when my head is too full of other endeavours it becomes easier to shelve my creative side and let my practical side take over. 

One of the biggest learning curves for me this year has been my discovery of how fulfilling it is to have the luxury of a little time to put towards purely creative endeavours. 

I will argue until I lose my voice that writing for a job, even if it’s on a topic you love, is not the same as being able to write purely for yourself. To find the words and phrases, tone and cadence that exist purely to satisfy your own creative need, unhampered by the wants of clients or editors, is ultimately the most personally satisfying undertaking I can think of. 

This blog grew from my need to find that creative outlet, to have a space where I could commit words, thoughts and feelings without feeling the need for censure (other than my own, of course). So, even when I ‘let it go’ for a couple of weeks while my other life takes over, I’ll always come back as it fills my ‘well’ in a way little else can. 

And I’ll bet it’s the same for any other creative pursuit. 

What is your creative outlet? How do you find time to incorporate it into your busy life?

 

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. simon / Aug 11 2011 4:41 pm

    Creativity comes to me in the kitchen (funnily enough) its the one place that pushes my boundaries whilst relaxing me at the same time. Creating the “gift” – whether for me or the masses is hugely important and an almost ritual for me
    Loving your work!!

    • melgardener / Aug 12 2011 1:56 pm

      Having seen you in action behind a BBQ in Italy I can well attest to this 🙂

  2. hotshot bald cop / Aug 31 2011 6:07 pm

    My thoughts exactly!

Leave a Reply

