Skip to content
19/09/2011 / melgardener

Walking to the beat

All in the name of exercise

This morning I decided to go out for a walk – it was the perfect spring day: crisp and clear. I plugged in my ear buds as usual, called up the “Mel’s Walking Songs” playlist on my phone and set off as usual. But, this morning, something was different…I was, all of a sudden, conscious of my walking action.

And, more importantly, how my walking action changed with the different music tracks on my phone.

This is definitely not something new – I have been walking for quite some time now – but this was the first time my conscious brain had noticed the difference. I have no idea why this morning my brain was more switched on than usual – it certainly isn’t the normal state of affairs for 8.30am on a Monday.

So I thought I’d share my own version of the “Ministry of Funny Walks” with you (and hope that you will return the favour and do the same). I’m well aware that, by revealing the contents of my playlist, I am opening myself up to derision and mockery but my attitude is “whatever gets you moving in the morning” so all the daggy stuff stays.

Kung Fu Fighting (Carl Douglas): Aggressive steps, pounding the pavement, with the occasional karate chop if I forget I’m in public.

Don’t Stop ‘Till You Get Enough (Michael Jackson): Lighter, bouncier steps with the occasional hip thrust and tip-toe turn thrown in. And, yes, sometimes I do go “ooooohhhhh” in time with the music.

Jive Talkin’ (The Bee Gees): Longer, steps with a definite strut action. The hips get moving and I sometimes catch myself pursing my lips as I walk.

Thunder In My Heart (Leo Sayer): I have to actively stop myself skipping along to this song but I certainly notice faster steps with the occasional grapevine thrown in for good measure. Oh, and this one I tend to sing along with.

Funky Town (Lips Inc): I can really get my boogie on with this song. Shorter, boppier steps with little runs on the “Well, I talk about it, talk about it, talk about it” parts.

Push It (Salt ‘n Pepa): I sometimes forget that I can be seen so bring out my ‘tude steps – shorter steps with a stamp action and every now and again I’ll chuck in a shoulder wiggle during the chorus.

Goody Two Shoes (Adam Ant): When this one comes on I’ve been known to say to myself “Come on, Mel, how about a little jog? Just for this song…you can do it!” Then I remember myself and hit forward to move onto the next song.

So, there you have it. Not a definitive list by any means but a little bit of self-embarrassment for a Monday morning. Why not join me?

Do you have a favourite song to exercise to or something that’s always on high rotation on your MP3 player? Do share…

Leave a Reply

