Skip to content
27/09/2011 / melgardener

School holidays – Day 2

Yum!

It’s day 2 of the school holidays and it’s my turn to have my eldest and her friend at our house (my daughter was at her friend’s house yesterday). Aside from the fact that we have digging activity to keep everyone occupied (and it’s surprisingly effective in doing so) I decided to do some baking – an activity I love to do with my kids and their friends.

Today we have made rainbow cookies and I wanted to share this with you because it’s close to the easiest biscuit recipe I know and it can be so easily adapted to suit your own tastes or what you have in the pantry. The recipe comes from a very old copy of a Family Circle “Biscuits & Slices” book and it would be fair to say that this is the recipe we cook most from this book.

Pre-heat your oven to 180 Celcius and line your baking tray with baking paper. Take 150g of softened, unsalted butter and beat with ¼ cup soft brown sugar, 1/3 cup caster sugar, one egg yolk and one teaspoon of vanilla extract, until light and fluffy.

Ready to start rolling

Ready to bake

Add 1 ½ cups of self-raising flour and stir to combine. At this stage you add whatever flavourings you’d like – in our case today I used 2/3 cup of rainbow choc dots but you could add choc bits (milk, white or dark), chopped nuts, smarties or anything else along these lines that takes your fancy. Just stir it all through until well combined – at this stage the mixture will still look quite crumbly. Use your hands to work the mixture into a soft dough.

Use your fingers to roll one tablespoon of mixture into balls and place on the baking tray. Allow a little room for spreading (they won’t go too far). Bake for 15 minutes until lightly golden brown. Cool on trays if you can wait that long but I promise you won’t regret trying them warm.

What are you up to these school holidays? Do you have a favourite recipe to share?

Edited to add that I’m linking up with “Kate Says Stuff” for Menu Monday (okay, so I’m a day late).

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kate Says Stuff / Sep 27 2011 7:39 pm

    Thanks for linking up 🙂

    I love baking with kids, so much fun and yummy!

    Going to add these to my baking to-do list for next week.

    • melgardener / Sep 27 2011 9:07 pm

      My pleasure…hope you enjoy the cookies.

Trackbacks

  1. When all else fails…bake « Personal Stories

Leave a Reply

